National Writing Award 2019

This award, for the most innovative, comprehensive, well-researched and critically informed dissertation, journal, essay or report by a final year student, is open to all IE member programmes.

Winners were announced at the IE Summer Exhibition 2019, part of the Truman’s Graduate Season on Friday 12th July.

The 3 winners are:

1st Place - Ariane Erlicher - The CASS, London Metropolitan University

View Ariane Erlicher's submission

2nd Place - Georgina Wood - University of Brighton

View Georgina Wood's submission

3rd Place - Frances De Havas - UCA Canterbury

View Frances De Havas's submission


Professor Graeme Brooker
Head of Programme Interior Design at the Royal College of Art and author

Dr Harriet Harris
Head of Research at the Royal College of Art

David Littlefield
Programme Leader, Interior Architecture, University of the West of England

Patrick Macklin
Head of Interior Design, The Glasgow School of Art

Rachel Simmonds
Programme Director, Interior Design, Edinburgh College of Art

Judges will declare any conflict of interest, such as reviewing work from their own institutions, and appropriate measures will be taken to ensure fair and transparent judging.


First Prize £250
Second Prize £150
Third Prize £100